Mary Beth Sewald begins her tenure as President and CEO of the Las Vegas Metro Chamber, effective December 11, 2017. As the chief executive of the largest and broadest-based business association in Nevada, she will set the vision for the Metro Chamber and will lead its strategy of supporting local businesses and pursuing initiatives to boost job growth, a healthy economy, and a vibrant community.

Sewald has successfully served as a strategic and visionary executive in both the private sector and non-profit association sectors. She most recently served as President & CEO of the Nevada Broadcasters Association (NVBA) where she led the efforts of the NVBA to collaborate with government officials, represent Nevada’s broadcast industry to all constituencies, and assure the financial health of the Association. During her tenure, she developed lines of communication and strong relationships with Nevada’s elected officials, as well as the FCC and regulators at the federal and state level to assure the NVBA’s position was heard and considered on the issues that affect the broadcast industry.

Her previous positions include General Manager of the NBC affiliate, KRNV TV in Reno, NV, where she managed and developed a staff of 95 broadcast professionals across all disciplines required to run a professional broadcast organization. Sewald successfully directed her team to be the first TV station in Northern Nevada to implement the “Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005” and the first to broadcast in High Definition, ensuring adherence to all FCC regulatory compliance, including all FCC reporting obligations. She also earned an Emmy Award for a documentary she Executive-Produced called “Meth Madness” at the NBC affiliate that is now KSNV-TV in Las Vegas.

Sewald was recognized as the first woman to be named Television General Manager in 2003, and was inducted into the Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame in 2009. She currently serves on the boards of directors for the Nevada Military Support Alliance, City National Bank, the Congressional Award of Nevada, and the Nevada Broadcasters Association Foundation. She is Vice Chair of the National Championship Air Races and a member of the Leadership Las Vegas Class of 2017.