The Vegas Chamber announces its first round of endorsements for the Nevada State Legislature, Clark County Commission and Clark County Board of School Trustees in the 2020 election. The endorsements are based on each candidate’s voting record on the Chamber’s priority bills (if incumbents), stated positions on policies important to businesses, understanding of issues impacting employers and the regional economy, as well as willingness to work with the Vegas Chamber and the business community on a variety of issues.

The Vegas Chamber will release additional endorsements in the coming weeks for the June primary races, as well as this fall for the General election.

Candidate endorsements are decided by the organization’s Government Affairs Committee, comprised of Chamber members representing a vast array of businesses, including small businesses, from several different industries. Government Affairs Committee members interviewed candidates, discussing policy positions and priorities, knowledge and comprehension of business issues, and vision for the region and state. Recommendations were made to the full Government Affairs Committee and voted on at its May meeting.

“We are at a critical time in our state’s history. It is essential that we elect lawmakers who are supportive of the needs and challenges of Nevada’s businesses as we restart and rebuild our economy,” says Hugh Anderson, chairman of the Chamber’s Government Affairs Committee.

District 7: Ellen Spiegel (D)
District 19: Pete Goicoechea (R)

District 1: Daniele Monroe-Moreno (D)
District 2: Heidi Kasama (R)
District 8: Jason Frierson (D)
District 13: Tom Roberts (R)
District 14: Maggie Carlton (D)
District 22: Melissa Hardy (R)
District 25: Jill Tolles (R)
District 33: John Ellison (R)
District 36: Greg Hafen (R)
District 42: Alex Assefa (D)

District A: Michael Naft (D)
District B: Marilyn Kirkpatrick (D)

District B: Bryan Wachter (NP)